We are pleased to announce the following confirmed Keynote speakers. Please click here to see the programme overview. Keep an eye out on this website and our social media channels for any updates.

Please click on the image of the speaker for more information. 

Advances in crop improvement and agriculture

Claire Halpin

University of Dundee, UK

Mark G.M. Aarts

Wageningen University & Research, NL


Shin Sik Choi

Myongji University, KR

Patrick Shahgaldian

School of Life Sciences FHNW, CH

Bioprocesses, bioreactors and biorefineries for biobased products 

Sung Ok (Sam) Han

Korea University, KR

Lisbeth Olsson

Chalmers University of Technology, SE

Harald Ruijssenaars

Corbion, NL

Lixin (Rainy) Zhang

East China University of Science and Technology, CN

Biotechnological solutions towards net zero & life cycle assessment

Byung-Kwan Cho

Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, KR

Tim Donohue

Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center, US

Ron Milo

Weizmann Institute of Science, IL

Wouter Van Winden

DSM-Firmenich, NL

Cell and gene therapy

Joaquim Vives

Banc de Sang i Teixits, ES

Yu-Chen Hu

National Tsing Hua University, TW

Clean water technologies

Mark van Loosdrecht

TU Delft, NL

Alan Werker

Wetsus, European centre of excellence for sustainable water technology, NL

Development of climate resilient food plants

Hannes Kollist

University of Tartu, EE

Alan Schulman

University of Helsinki, FI

Electrification of biotechnology

Douglas Call

North Carolina State University, US

Teuta Pilizota

University of Edinburgh, UK

Emerging agriculture technologies

Nuria De Diego

Palacký University Olomouc, CZ

Susanne Larocca

Industria Chimica Societa Per Azioni. SO.G.I.S, IT

Enzyme discovery and engineering

Sarah Cleary

HydRegen, UK

Frank Hollmann

TU Delft, NL

Maria Lucas

Zymvol Biomodeling SL, ES

Sven Panke

ETH Zürich, CH

Antoni Planas

IQS School of Engineering, ES

Peter Punt

Ginkgo Bioworks & Leiden University, NL

Ulrich Schwaneberg

RWTH Aachen University, DE

Qing Yang

Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, CN

Future protein sources - sustainability, security, morality and palatability  

Corjan van den Berg

Revyve & FUMI Ingredients, NL

Daan Luning

Meatable, NL

Genome editing in crop improvement   

Götz Hensel

Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf, DE

Aleš Pečinka

Czech Academy of Sciences, CZ

Healthy soil and bioaugmentation

Elena Biagi

University of Bologna, IT

Franz Bender

Agroscope, CH

Industrial microorganisms for biomanufacturing

Haruyuki Atomi

Kyoto University, JP

Akihiko Kondo

Kobe University, JP

Pablo Nikel

Technical University of Denmark, DK

Ralf Takors

University of Stuttgart, DE

Marine biotechnology and microalgal bioprocesses

Marcella Fernandes De Souza

Ghent University, BE

C.-G. Lee

Inha University, KR

New antibiotics and antimicrobials

Martin Held

ETH Zürich,CH

Rolf Müller

Helmholtz Institute for Pharmaceutical Research Saarland, DE

Novel approaches to the production of biologicals

Stefanos Grammatikos

UCB Pharma SA, UK

George Lomonossoff

John Innes Centre, UK

Emile van den Akker

Sanquin, NL

Nikolas Zeh

Boehringer Ingelheim, DE

Personalized health

Mei-Wei Lin

Biomedical Technology and Device Research Laboratories, ITRI, TW

Power2X: carbon capture and sustainable bioenergy

Björn Heijstra 

LanzaTech, BE

Paul Hudson

KTH-Royal Institute of Technology, SE

Ludovic Jourdin

TU Delft, NL

Aniek van der Woude

Photanol, NL

Process analytical technology (PAT) and modelling

Juan Asenjo

Universidad de Chile, CL

SangWoo Seo

Seoul National University, SK

Social aspects of biotechnology

Oana Dima

Ghent University, BE

Patricia Osseweijer

Delft University of Technology, NL

Tissue engineering

Nico Callewaert


Martin Fussenegger

ETH Zurich, CH


Visit us on Social Media

Please note: All information requested on the website and registration process is strictly for the use of the Congress in compliance with international privacy legislation. By completing this registration form you will agree that the Congress will use this data to keep you fully informed of the Congress in 2024. The data will then be retained by the Congress secretariat for the purposes of informing you about activities and future meetings. On the registration form, You will also have the opportunity to agree separately to allow key data (Name, Company, Email Address) to be shared with sponsors and exhibitors who are participating in the Congress in 2024. We will not pass any details to any companies not participating in the Congress in 2024.